Q & A: What does society get wrong about those on the autism spectrum?

I can’t speak for all of society, but I can speak for myself. I associated autism with the most obvious physical symptoms of Down Syndrome. The rounded appearance, the odd gait, the stereotype. When I started researching what was wrong with me a voice in the back of my head, very early on (let’s call it “common sense”) said “you’re autistic”. My reasoning, superior intellect voice said “don’t be ridiculous! You’ve got amazing reflexes! You’re an athlete and could have been a model at one point. You’re gifted in communication. You don’t rock, flap, screech, scream or look rounded. You’re not autistic.” To which common sense whispered “… yes you are.”

It took me years and years and years to overcome my bias and prejudice against those who are autistic to admit I might have it. And several years after THAT to get tested. And now, two years after the diagnosis, acceptance is still a long way away.

So. What I got wrong. Autism CAN mean rocking, flapping, making odd noises, etc. But not always. In me it means ill adapted socially, lightening quick in many other areas, can’t solve for “x” (NOT NOT NOT my fault!!! NOT NOT NOT a character flaw!!!) but can understand theoretical physics (even if I find it nearly impossible to spell). It doesn’t negate you as a person (no matter what you privately think). I’m working on that last bit.