Voices carry

There are a lot of unexpected situations that pop up when one is mentally ill.  Some, like rapid-fire mood swings, are predictable – or at least expected.  But what about the more nebulous symptoms?  One of the most difficult to explain to others is “hearing voices”.  If a person has never experienced it, they usually nod, smile and look uncomfortable.

Until now I’ve never seen anyone explain this symptom in a way others would understand.  Here is an OUTSTANDING blog post from Emma White covering this issue in a way I think most will be able to grasp.  For my next post I’ll share what happened when I heard them.

http://www.therealsupermumblog.com/2012/09/hear-voices/

4 thoughts on “Voices carry

    • Hi Nicci,

      You are SO not alone. I’m researching my follow-up post for this, which I will share a little later this evening. I’m amazed by what I’m discovering! Modern research suggests that 1 person out of every 25 “hears voices” – so many that it’s almost being thought of as “normal” these days. Of course, it also depends on the type. I’ll go into much more detail when I post the follow-up. But rest assured, you’re not alone. 🙂

      • I think the big issue is the stigma. I haven’t said anything about them before especially to people around me because I know that would scare them. People don’t like hearing about voices in your head. they used to scare me but I have gotten used to them and can ignore them most of the time but if I get too emotional about things, I hear them more and more. Can be scary.

      • I understand completely. Disclaimer: I’m not a medical professional, just someone who’s been there. That being said, like you I find mine respond to the level of emotion. Most of the time I find them extremely comforting. Like friends chatting in the background. But there are other times when it can get to “annoying” or even “frightening”. Again, I’ll add those details in my longer post. Thanks for mentioning the stigma – I’ll see if I can work that in. It should be addressed. In the meantime, if you haven’t read the article by Emma White that prompted me to post this in the first place, I highly recommend it. She has a real gift! I just spent the last hour writing 1,000 words on this topic, and I ripped out about 700. I was getting too complicated, unlike Emma, who hit exactly the right note. It’ll be better when I post it. 😉

Leave a Reply

